top of page

#reverb16 // November // Give Thanks

Sarah, Meredith, Kat and I are continuing the #reverb challenge right through 2016 with monthly prompts- turning to daily in December! You can join in anytime by signing up here. Use the #reverb16 hashtag when posting on social media so we can find you! Also, have you joined our Facebook group?!

Give Thanks: Even in the hard years, wonderful things happen. What has filled your heart? What will fill your stomach at the Thanksgiving table?

It's simple. My family.

A lot of people say that. But they're typically talking about the people who raised them, were raised along side them, cousins they played with when they were growing up, grandparents who doted on them, aunts and uncles who were like the cooler parents.

I have none of that. They were hard years, the ones I spent realizing this.

My family is different. We are a group of people who have chosen to be in each other's lives for no reason other than that we want to be. We don't have to be. We are not obligated. We don't share blood or genetics or mannerisms. We simply choose each other every day.

I don't think I am unique in this - we all have friends that we love who are like family to us. Some people are so incredibly lucky to have both related family and chosen family in one kumbaya tribe. But I still believe at the end of the day there is a calling to prioritize blood. If there was a choice to be made, your related family may win out.

I feel so content in this space where I don't have to make those choices, and those that I do, I never have to make under obligation. The freedom in this is enormously satisfying. These people (and pup) fill my heart to the brim every day.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page