top of page

#reverb16 // Day 1 // Intentions

Sarah, Meredith, Kat and I are hosting the #reverb16 December challenge with daily writing prompts for the whole month! You can join in anytime by finding our Facebook group. Use the #reverb16 hashtag when posting on social media so we can find you!

Intentions. Let’s set our intention for the month of December on writing, creativity, and expression. What do you hope to get out of a month of writing each day? What is your favorite part about writing - the idea, the first words, the final sentiments?

I love writing. It's an introvert's dream form of expression. Texting, emailing, handwriting, typing... it's all just slow enough to get the thoughts jammed in my head out in the atmosphere in a calm, structured, intentional way. Talking?? That's a whole other story. It's too fast. I don't have time to process. I don't have quick wit.

My intention for this month of writing is similar to those in the past- to come back to this thing that I love that I deprioritize at times when life gets in the way. I have participated in reverb since 2013, and started leading a group in 2015 with Sarah, and we continue this year with more reverb partners. Writing is a creative outlet for me that feeds itself. The more I do it, even if it is forced, the more I want to do it, and the easier it gets. Like smiling... even if you feel down, if you smile at someone and they smile back somehow things just start feeling better.

This year I want to keep it simple. When I have grand dreams of writing masterpieces that perfectly articulate my feelings and desires I can get lost in the mechanics of writing... of perfecting. And that's not what this is about (we only have a day after all). It's just about creating, imperfectly. Imperfect is more authentic anyways.

Cheers! Glad to have you all following this process with me & welcome to all the reverb newbies out there!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
bottom of page